CDRmare

Research Mission of the German Marine Research Alliance (DAM) »Marine carbon sinks in decarbonisation pathways«

In order to support pathways to mitigate the increasingly drastic consequences of human-made climate change and to achieve the Paris Agreement goals, the removal of CO2 from the atmosphere will be an important measure alongside massive CO2 emission reductions.

The research mission CDRmare (CDR: Carbondioxide Removal – CO2 removal) will investigate whether and to what extent the ocean can play a significant role in the removal and storage of CO2 from the atmosphere. It will also consider the linkages with and impacts on the marine environment, Earth system, and society, as well as appropriate approaches for monitoring, attributing, and accounting for marine carbon storage in a changing environment.

The research mission will establish relevant assessment criteria and, in the long term, a Marine Carbon Roadmap for the sustainable use of marine carbon storage at regional to global scales, in close dialogue with stakeholders.

>> Read more about the research mission CDRmare here …

The 6 Collaborative Research Consortia

The DAM research mission »Marine Carbon Sinks in Decarbonization Pathways« is composed of 6 consortia investigating different methods of marine CO2 removal and storage (alkalinization, blue carbon, artificial upwelling, CCS) in terms of their potential, risks and trade-offs and bringing them together in a transdisciplinary assessment framework.

>> Read more about the 6 consortia …

CDRmare

Forschungsmission der Deutschen Allianz Meeresforschung (DAM) »Marine Kohlenstoffspeicher als Weg zur Dekarbonisierung«

Bei der Suche nach Möglichkeiten, die zunehmend drastischen Folgen des menschengemachten Klimawandels abzumildern und die versprochenen Klimaziele zu erreichen, wird neben einer massiven CO2-Emissionsreduktion auch die Entnahme von CO2 aus der Atmosphäre eine wichtige Rolle spielen.

Die Forschungsmission CDRmare (CDR: Carbondioxide Removal – CO2 Entnahme) wird untersuchen, ob und in welchem Umfang der Ozean eine wesentliche Rolle bei der Entnahme und Speicherung von CO2 aus der Atmosphäre spielen kann. Es werden dabei auch die Wechselbeziehungen mit und die Auswirkungen auf die Meeresumwelt, das Erdsystem und die Gesellschaft sowie geeignete Ansätze für die Überwachung, Attribution und Bilanzierung der marinen Kohlenstoffspeicherung in einer sich verändernden Umwelt betrachtet.

Die Forschungsmission wird im engen Dialog mit Stakeholdern relevante Bewertungskriterien und langfristig eine Marine Carbon Roadmap für die nachhaltige Nutzung der marinen Kohlenstoffspeicher auf auf regionaler, überregionaler und globaler Ebene erstellen.

Die 6 Forschungsverbünde der Forschungsmission CDRmare

Die DAM-Forschungsmission »Marine Kohlenstoffsenken in Dekarbonisierungspfaden« (CDRmare) setzt sich aus 6 Verbünden zusammen, in denen verschiedene Methoden der marinen CO2-Entnahme und Speicherung (Alkalinisierung, Blue Carbon, Künstlicher Auftrieb, CCS) hinsichtlich ihres Potenzials, ihrer Risiken und Trade-Offs untersucht und in einem transdisziplinären Bewertungsrahmen zusammengeführt werden.

CDRmare Partner